Learning Activity 5-D-2: Applets

I like the Shape Sorter game on the illuminations website, as indicated below.  I was immediately drawn to the game because I am currently teaching a geometry unit; thus, the game has current relevance.  One of things I like most about the game is that it is very comprehensive.  For example, the game encompasses everything from polygon characteristics, to symmetry, angles, and Venn Diagrams.  Students select their own Venn Diagram categories from a long list of options; therefore, I also like the fact that the students are in control of their own learning.  I can definitely see myself using the applet as an assessment tool in the near future.  Since the applet displays the correct & incorrect responses at the end of each round, I would also have my students write about why some of their answers were wrong.

http://illuminations.nctm.org/ActivityDetail.aspx?ID=34

 

Learning Activity: 5-A-4 Evaluating our Definitions: Equations and Functions

After reviewing my classmate’s posts on functions and equations, I noticed that many of the definitions and examples were similar.  Other than having different semantics, we all pretty much created the same definitions.  If I were to alter one thing about my definition, however, I would write more about the patterns that are created by functions, and mention that equations don’t have to have variables on each side of the equation.  Although I provided examples that illustrated this, I didn’t mention it in my definition.

To evaluate whether my students grasp the difference between the two, I would have them write examples of equations and functions in their journals.  Subsequently, I would have them create a Venn Diagram to organize their data, and require them to compare and contrast the two.  I would allow them to use any resource they would like to create a multitude of examples.

Learning Activity 5-3-A: My Definition of Equations & Functions

Equation: An equation is a numeric or algebraic number sentence that is made up of two expressions: one on each side of an equal sign.  Equations must maintain their balance on each side of the equal sign.

Examples of Equations:

Y = 2r + 7                   76 = 14/X                      7(4 + 5) =

Function: A function is an algebraic equation that has two variables or missing values: one on each side of an equal sign.  When one of the variables is replaced with a numeric value, the equation can be solved, and there is an output for the other variable.

The links and activities below are supplementary resources that reinforce equations and functions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Examples of Functions:  

f(x) = 3 + 6x       f(x) = 54x + 17       f(x) = 87 – 54x

Defines Functions; Provides Examples & On-line Practice.

http://www.studyzone.org/testprep/math4/d/functiontable4l.cfm

Defines Functions; Provides Examples; Discusses Variables and Domains & Ranges; Graphing Functions & Function Tables.

http://www.ehow.com/about_5431722_math-function-table.html

Comprehensive Review of Linear Equations, Including On-Line Practice, Tests & Illustrations.

http://www.mathsisfun.com/equation_of_line.html

Comprehensive Video That Reviews  A Variety Of Different Forms Of Simple Linear Equations.

http://player.discoveryeducation.com/index.cfm?guidAssetId=9D45C18B-ECE5-4B1B-BFB9-D8A56F3CCCFA&blnFromSearch=1&productcode=US
                                                                        

Journal Activities

1.  Write about a real-world situation that has a constant rate of change and a Y-intercept.  For example,  NYC cabs charge .45 per mile and an initial fee of $3.00.

1a. Create an equation that represents your example.

2. Create your own pattern of six numbers, along with a concrete visual of your pattern.  Describe the rule associated with your pattern.